Visa information

Share this Page

No Bulgarian visa required for the following countries

No visas are required for holiday and business visits by citizens of the following countries unless applicants have been specifically advised that their visa exemption has been withdrawn.

Any national not listed below will require a visa to enter Bulgaria.

Holders of valid ordinary passports from the following countries do not need a visa to visit Bulgaria for up to 90 days within each period of six months:

Andorra Lithuania
Australia Luxembourg
Austria Malaysia
Belgium Mexico
Brazil Monaco
Brunei Netherlands
Canada New Zealand
Chile Nicaragua
Costa Rica Norway
Croatia Panama
Cyprus Paraguay
Czech Republic Poland
Denmark Portugal
El Salvador Republic of Korea
Estonia Romania
Finland San Marino
France Singapore
Germany Slovak Republic
Greece Slovenia
Guatemala Spain
Honduras Sweden
Hungary Switzerland
Iceland UK (British Citizen Passport Holders and British Nationals/Overseas only)
Ireland USA
Israel Uruguay
Italy the Vatican
Japan Venezuela
Latvia SAR – China (Hong Kong, Makao)

Special note for holders of Schengen visas

Bulgaria currently issues national visas only. A Schengen visa will permit entry into Bulgaria but a Bulgarian visa will not permit entry into the Schengen area.

Any participant holding a valid multi-entry Schengen visa covering the entire dates of their visit including travel to Bulgaria will be granted entry into Bulgaria using that Schengen visa. A Bulgarian visa will not be required in addition to this for travel to Bulgaria.

Applying for a Schengen visa

Participants should be advised that applications for a Schengen visa on the premise that they are visiting Bulgaria will not be accepted by Schengen state consulates.

Any Schengen application submitted should be for travel to the Schengen states area only. If a visa is issued that covers the complete dates of travel and is issued as a multi-entry visa, it will then permit entry into Bulgaria in addition to the Schengen states area.

Countries requiring a visa

Any country not listed above will require a visa to enter Bulgaria.

NB: You are advised to submit your visa application 3 months prior to congress to ensure that you are able to travel. Should Bulgaria not have consular representation in your country, your application will need to be applied for at the nearest alternative consulate unless in possession of a valid Schengen visa covering the period of travel to Bulgaria and other Schengen states.

For more information on the Bulgarian visa application process please visit this page. Furthermore if travelling to Bulgaria using a Schengen visa we recommend you print the relevant information contained on the webpages and present to the airline at check-in.